The prize is open to medical practitioners holding a non-consultant appointment in anaesthesia in Sri Lanka.

This is a free paper competition and is held every year as a part of annual academic congress of the College of Anaesthesiologists & Intensivists of Sri Lanka. The prize will be awarded at the inauguration ceremony of annual academic congress of the subsequent year.

Abstracts would be called for in late May or June, each year.


Diploma in Anaesthesia (London), FFARCS (England)

Dr. L M V Attygalle was among the pioneering anaesthetists in Sri Lanka who contributed to the anaesthetic literature in the country. Among his papers are a description of an adaptation of the Ayre’s T piece for use in neuro-anaesthesia, anaesthesia for patients with diabetes mellitus and anaesthesia for ophthalmic surgery.

He obtained the Diploma in Anaesthesia (London) and the fFellowship of the Faculty of Anaesthetists of the Royal College of Surgeons (England) in 1955. He was the first Sri Lankan to obtain this fellowship.

On his return to Sri Lanka he was appointed a Consultant Anaesthetist to the Colombo group of hospitals. With the establishment of the Neurosurgical Unit at the National hospital of Sri Lanka in 1956, Dr. Attygalle was appointed as anaesthetist to the Neurosurgical Unit. Subsequently he worked as a Consultant Anaesthetist in Holland.

In 1983 Dr. Attygalle made a donation to the College of Anaesthesiologists of Sri Lanka to establish a prize in his name to be awarded at the Annual Scientific Sessions of the College to the best paper presented by a practising non-consultant grade anaesthetist in Sri Lanka. He also donated a trophy to be awarded along with the cash prize.

Dr. L M V Attygalle prize competition has been a feature of every Scientific Session of the College since the inception of the academic sessions in 1984.