The prize is open to any medical student studying in a University in Sri Lanka on the day that the abstracts are called for. The competition is held every year as a part of annual academic congress of the College of Anaesthesiologists & Intensivists of Sri Lanka with the prize being awarded at the inauguration ceremony of annual academic congress of the following year.

Abstracts would be called for in late May or June, each year.

This prize was inaugurated by


OBE, MB ChB, FRCA, FCPS (Hon.) London

Dr. Graham Arthurs is a Consultant Anaesthetist with special interest in Pain Medicine and Palliative Care. He is a dedicated teacher, an administrator, team leader, social worker and has publicised many scientific papers and authored many books.

He was a past president of the Welsh Society of Anaesthetists. While he was an examiner for the final FRCA (London) he visited Sri Lanka from 2001-2003 to conduct tutorials and  workshops for the post graduate trainees preparing for the final MD.

He pioneered the pain clinic at Maelor General Hospital, Wrexham in Wales. His vision of building a hospice to provide palliative care & pain relief for the terminally ill was fulfilled in 1993. Nightingale house hospice is now a mainstay of healthcare in North Wales. Dr. Graham John Arthurs Dynamic Centre for Children & Young people with disabilities was inaugurated in July 2003. For his profound dedicated services to humanity he was awarded the OBE in December 1995 by her Majesty the Queen.

On the academic front, Dr. Arthurs always had an urge to train and support students and young anaesthetists not only in the United Kingdom but also in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. He was also involved in a number of rotary projects in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Dr.Graham Arthurs was the Chief Guest at the Silver Jubilee Scientific Sessions of the College of Anaesthesiologists of Sri Lanka in February 2009. At the end of the sessions the “Graham Arthurs Prize Competition for Research work in Anaesthesia by a medical student” was inaugurated. The prize is open to any medical student studying in a University in Sri Lanka on the day that the competition is held. The topic can be of any subject related to anaesthesia and allied interests such as critical care, pain, palliative care or clinical assessment.